New Hanover County Schools Announces 2018-2019 Educators of the Year

By / Life on the Island / Tuesday, 12 June 2018 22:27

The New Hanover County Board of Education, in collaboration with Hendrick Toyota of Wilmington and Wells Fargo Foundation, honored 45 Teachers of the Year and principals at the Educator of the Year Banquet held at Ashley High School on June 6, 2018. There were approximately 200 people in attendance. Guests included members of the Board, New Hanover County Schools senior staff, school administrators, teachers, and representatives from Wells Fargo and Hendrick Toyota. The following individuals were named NHCS' Educators of the Year:
• Elementary School – Christen Howe, Bradley Creek Elementary School
• Middle School – Kari Loeber, Trask Middle School
• High School – Catherine Coleman, Hoggard High School
• Principal- Krista Holland, Anderson Elementary School, was named the 2018-2019 Principal of the Year.
 The 2018-2019 NHCS Educator of the Year is Christen Howe. Upon receiving the Educator of the Year honor, Ms. Howe thanked her fellow educators for making her better. "We rise by lifting others. We can lift our students by getting to know them as people, building on their strengths, and empowering them to take ownership of their learning." She also encouraged fellow educators to lift one another up.
 Principal of the Year Krista Holland stated, “We have unlimited power to speak life into children every day; whatever it is that we tell children we believe about them and see in them, they’ll believe and begin to see it too. We have the power to change the trajectory of children’s lives. Let’s not be afraid to use it!”
 Each winner was cited for their outstanding contributions to education and presented with awards from the NHC Board of Education. As the NHCS Teacher of the Year, Christen Howe received the keys to a new Toyota Prius to use for one year, compliments of Hendrick Toyota of Wilmington.
 In addition, The Wells Fargo Foundation, Inc. contributed $1,000 to each Elementary, Middle, and High School Teacher of the Year, and the Principal of the Year. Ms. Howe and Mrs. Holland will go on to represent NHCS at the regional level and possibly advance to the state level.
 During the banquet, the Board recognized all of the schools’ 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year: 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year: Megan Prey, Alderman Elementary School; Kim Houser, Anderson Elementary School; Gwen Abraham, Ashley High School; Alicia Chapman, Bellamy Elementary School; Desiree Garay, Blair Elementary School; Christen Howe, Bradley Creek Elementary School; Beth Cronin, Career Readiness Academy at Mosley PLC; Rachel Taylor Joyce, Carolina Beach Elementary; Brandy Conley, Castle Hayne Elementary School; Tisa Freck, Codington Elementary School; Katherine Profita, College Park Elementary School; Sara Lehman, College Road Early Childhood Center; Amanda Manchester, Eaton Elementary School; Sally Kilgore, Forest Hills Global Elementary School; Jan Ellington, Freeman Elementary School of Engineering; Linsey Honaker, The International School at Gregory; Catherine Coleman, Hoggard High School; Amber Le, Holly Shelter Middle School; Bethany Nay, Holly Tree Elementary School; Scott Hatch, Howe Pre-K Center; Bailey Hall, Isaac Bear Early College High School; Casey McDonald, Johnson Pre-K Center; Laura Jolly, Lake Forest Academy; Laura Bullard, Laney High School; Robyn Hauck, Murray Middle School; Kimberly Baltezegar, Murrayville Elementary School; Jeff Christner, Myrtle Grove Middle School; Nicolette Johnson, New Hanover High School; Ashley Morgan, Noble Middle School; Jennifer Cockrell, Ogden Elementary School; Sara Haukos, Parsley Elementary School; Elisabeth Mead, Pine Valley Elementary School; Christopher Moore, J. C. Roe Center; William McKibbin, Roland-Grise Middle School; Maura Stewart, Snipes Academy of Arts & Design; Richard Kukor, Southeast Area Technical High School; Heather Heinze, Sunset Park Elementary School; Kari Loeber, Trask Middle School; Tamika Bierlein, D. C. Virgo Preparatory Academy; Alexandria Moore, Williams Elementary School; Wendy Mateos, Williston Middle School; Lauren Gray, Wilmington Early College High School; Allyson Stoddard, Winter Park Elementary School; Annie Brinkley, Wrightsboro Elementary School; Kimberly Thompson, Wrightsville Beach Elementary School; 
Principal of the Year Nominees: Krista Holland, Anderson Elementary School; Maria Madison, College Park Elementary School; Jackson Norvell, Wrightsville Beach Elementary School; Dr. Margaret Rollison, Trask Middle School
Congratulations to all!
Special thanks to the sponsors of the Educator of the Year Banquet:
A Taste of Italy, Chick-Fil-A, CrossFit Monkey Junction, Edible Arrangements, Hendrick Toyota, Jersey Mike’s, Lowes Home Improvement, McDonald’s, Papa Murphy’s Pizza, Pelican’s Snoballs, Port City Java, P.T.’s Olde Fashioned Grille, Southern Sign Company, The Fresh Market, Trader Joe’s, Wells Fargo Foundation  and Joseph Zell.


Super User

Super User






Please publish modules in offcanvas position.