One Stop Early Voting Ends Saturday November 1st

One Stop Early Voting Ends Saturday November 1st Featured

By / Local News / Wednesday, 29 October 2014 04:00

Managing Editor

NEW HANOVER CTY - There are five polling locations open throughout New Hanover County where voters can cast their ballots early rather than waiting until Election Day on November 4th. Those locations will be open daily until Saturday November 1st.
According to the New Hanover County Board of Elections if you choose to vote by the One-Stop absentee method, you simply appear in person at one of the One-Stop voting locations. One-Stop began on the second Thursday before the election and ends on the Saturday before the election at 1:00 PM.
According to the Board of Elections, "One-Stop voting allows voters an opportunity to vote when it best suits individual schedules. At the voting location, you will vote much like you would on Election Day. The difference is you will be required to complete and sign an absentee request application prior to voting. Afterwards, you will be directed to the voting machine to cast your ballot.
Once you have submitted your application and executed the process of voting, the county board of elections will review your application and either approve or deny the submission. Due to legislative changes under the Voter Information and Verification Act (VIVA), individuals will no longer have the opportunity to register in person at a One-Stop voting site. All voters seeking to register will need to do so prior to the voter registration deadline."
 If a voter who is voting for the first time presents to vote at a One-Stop voting site and has not provided either a driver’s license number or the last 4 digits
of a social security number to the county board of elections upon initial registration, that voter will be required to provide one of the following:
• A current and valid photo identification or
• A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, or other government document showing both name and address
If you elect to provide one of the documents listed above, it will need to be current or at least dated within 6 months of the date it is presented to an election official.
If you have any questions contact the Board of Elections  office at 910-798-7330.
The Elections Training Center, 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 38, Wilmington, NC 28403
Thursday, October 23rd until Saturday, November 1st
• Monday – Friday     8:00 am to 8:00 pm
• Saturday  Oct 25     8:00 am to 8:00 pm
• Saturday  Nov 1       8:00 am to 1:00 pm
Additional Sites:
Monday, October 27th until   Saturday, November 1st
• Monday – Friday 10:00 am to 7:00 pm
• Saturday  Nov 1   8:00 am to 1:00 pm
• Main Library 
201 Chestnut Street  
Wilmington, NC 28401                  
• Northeast Library             
1241 Military Cutoff Road         
Wilmington, NC 28405
• Senior Resource Center      
2222 South College Road
Wilmington, NC 28403
• Carolina Beach Town Hall
1121 N. Lake Park Boulevard, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
For more information on the 43 polling locations throughout New Hanover County on Election Day, November 4th, call the Board of Elections at 910-798-7330 or visit them online at
Three questions will be put to the voters on ballots this election.
NC Constitutional Amendment
“Constitutional amendment providing that a person accused of any criminal offense for which the State is not seeking a sentence of death in superior court may, in writing or on the record in court and with the consent of the trial judge, waive the person’s right to a trial by jury.”
New Hanover County School Bonds
“SHALL the order authorizing $160,000,000 of bonds plus interest to pay the costs of constructing, improving, and renovating school facilities, specifically including, among other things, the construction and renovation of classroom facilities and district-wide improvements for safety, security, technology and building infrastructure, the
acquisition and installation of furnishings and equipment, and the acquisition of land or rights-in-land required therefor, and providing that additional taxes may
be levied in an amount sufficient to pay the principal and interest on the bonds be approved?”
City of Wilmington Street and Sidewalk Bonds
“SHALL the order authorizing $44,000,000 of bonds plus interest to pay the costs of acquiring, constructing, reconstructing, widening, extending, paving, resurfacing, grading and improving streets, roads and intersections; acquiring, constructing, reconstructing and improving sidewalks or walkways, curbs, gutters, drains, bridges, overpasses, underpasses and grade crossings; constructing and improving walking and bicycle trails and greenways; and providing related landscaping, lighting and traffic controls, signals and markers; and the acquisition of land, rights-of-way and easements in land required therefor, and providing that additional taxes may be levied in an amount sufficient to pay the principal and interest on the bonds be approved?”

The following candidates will appear on ballots in New Hanover County.
Board of Education (4 Seats)
Emma Saunders - Democrat
Chris Meek - Democrat
Tom Gale - Democrat
Ed Higgins - Republican
Janice Cavenaugh - Republican
Don Hayes - Republican
Bruce Shell - Republican
Clerk of the Superior Court
Jan G. Kennedy - Republican

County Commissioner
Rob Zapple - Democrat
Patricia Spear - Democrat
Skip Watkins - Republican
Derrick Hickey - Republican

Court of Appeals Judge (Davis)
Paul Holcombe
Mark Davis

Court of Appeals Judge (Hunter)
Lucy Inman
Bill Southern

Court of Appeals Judge (Stroud)
Donna S. Stroud

District Attorney District 5
Ben David - Democrat

District Court Judge District 5 (Blackmore)
Lindsey McKee Luther
Kent Harrell

District Court Judge District 5 (Crouch)
Melinda Crouch
Charles (Duke) Lineberry

District Court Judge District 5 (Faison)
James H. Faison III

District Court Judge District 5 (Hogston)
Chad E. Hogston

Office: Sheriff
Ed McMahon - Democrat
Jason Vaughn - Republican

Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisor
Steven Alan Skavroneck - Nonpartisan
William J. (Bill) Hart - Nonpartisan
Frank Christopher Meares - Nonpartisan

State Representative (District 18)
Susi Hamilton - Democrat

State Representative (District 19)
Ted Davis, Jr. - Republican

State Representative (District 20)
Betsy Jordan - Democrat
Rick Catlin - Republican

State Senator (District 8)
Ernie Ward - Democrat
Bill Rabon - Republican

State Senator (District 9)
Elizabeth Redenbaugh - Democrat
Michael Lee - Republican

Supreme Court Associate Justice (Beasley)
Cheri Beasley
Mike Robinson

Supreme Court Associate Justice (Martin)
Bob Hunter
Sam J. Ervin IV

Supreme Court Associate Justice (Hudson)
Robin Hudson
Eric Levinson

Supreme Court Chief Justice (Parker)
Mark Martin
Ola M. Lewis

U.S. Representative (District 3)
Marshall Adame - Democrat
Walter Jones - Republican

U.S. Representative (District 7)
Jonathan Barfield, Jr. - Democrat
J. Wesley Casteen - Libertarian
David Rouzer - Republican

U.S. Senator
Kay Hagan - Democrat
Sean Haugh - Libertarian
Thom Tillis - Republican


Super User

Super User



Please publish modules in offcanvas position.